Twitter Discussion on How to Take Effective Notes from Papers

Here’s a twitter discussion on how other postgrads and researchers take notes from articles. Also worth a glance is the article on Luhmann’s Zettelkasten from @FHeimburger(http://takingnotenow.blogspot.fr/2007/12/luhmanns-zettelkasten.html)

Personally I’ve always stuck to pen and paper to take notes, begrudgingly supporting this with Endnote organised papers – I’m not a technophobe, I simply don’t remember anything I read or write digitally, whereas an insignificant jot on the back of an envelope will stay with me for weeks.

The Thesis Whisperer

Taking notes from the articles we read is not something we researchers talk about a lot, which means you have probably developed your own ad-hoc, idiosyncratic methods. And they probably work … but could they be better?

I find the very best way to learn this kind of everyday practice is in casual conversations; the sort that usually take place in the tearooms and hallways of academia. When @riotk asked me to do a post on note taking I figured Twitter was the ideal vehicle to start gathering ideas. Twitter enables me to host a ‘watercooler’ conversation – globally.

I know lots of people either don’t like Twitter, or think it’s a waste of time. I hope to convince you otherwise. Last night I facilitated a live Australian #phdchat on the topic on note taking tips and techniques, where lots of good ideas were shared. In fact, the discussion…

View original post 97 more words

Leave a Reply

